Six Degrees of Cheese

My favorite thing about living in London, by far, is grocery shopping. I know there are things you can’t find, and that will maybe eventually rear its ugly head and become annoying. But for now, I am downright delighted by the items they stock.

Take, for example, the extensive cheese array. Yes, I would love to pay less than two pounds for a round of goat cheese that I will eat with this gorgeous 65p freshly-baked baguette and yummy Β£1.79 caramelised red onion chutney you have here. And oh, these cheddar cheeses are ranked in sharpness from 1 through 6? Delightful, I tell you. Delightful.

I also have a soft spot for the refrigerated desserts here. I know what you’re thinking: What are you on about, Marissa? Refrigerated packaged desserts? What, like some chocolate pudding by some American brand that you’re already so English you can’t easily call to mind the name of? No, not some chocolate pudding. Well, yes, some chocolate pudding. I mean, they’re not barbarians. But, more: Flans. Creme caramels. Panna cottas. Mousses. Trifles. Sticky toffee puddings. FOOLS.

Friends, let me introduce you to the best 75p I spend all week.

2 thoughts on “Six Degrees of Cheese

  1. yael says:

    Isn’t it so weird that none of the cheddar is bright orange? It’s like these people think cheese should be eaten in the way nature and God intended.

  2. andrea says:

    I miss the cheese in London. We wish we could find cheese as good in the US!

Comment...

