Our house. In the middle of our street.

Sorry. Really. You are all going to have that stuck in your heads now for days.

Apologies for the break in posts. We moved last week! And I was still getting over my cold. So there was not much happening aside from that.

On Thursday, one friendly and two not-nearly-as-friendly Englishmen brought all of our worldly goods up four flights of stairs and they sit, mostly settled, in front of me now. I have my books back! I can’t tell you how happy it made me. And how annoyed I was that we didn’t bring more because we have an absurd amount of shelf space in this place. The highlight of it, in fact, (for me) is the wonderful, bright hallway with built-ins. Gorgeous. Pictures below.

On Friday night we had our second incidental visitor. Chris’s friend Katie (from Wayne) was in town after a ski trip to Austria, visiting a friend before flying back. She invited us to a house party of (stay with me) her friend-who-she-was-visiting’s friend. We walked into a flat that was a 40-second walk from Buckingham Palace to 35 Americans playing flip cup. They’d all also mostly just met on this Austrian ski trip the previous week and there was a joint greeting for us as we walked in. They were all Americans and better still—New Yorkers. MY PEOPLE. Thank God for Katie—that girl makes the best friends.

Saturday we moved our suitcases and all of the things we brought on the plane over to the new flat, which was annoying, and I’m honestly not sure how I’m even going to get groceries up to this “penthouse” as we’ve started to call it. But, it was made sweeter by getting the gorgeous invitation to the Frawley-hawes wedding as our first piece of mail! This will be our first trip back to the US in May, and I’m getting totally pumped for it in a way I hadn’t expected. As long as I don’t pass out at 7 PM, guys: SHOTS, SHOTS, SHOTS, SHOTS, SHOTS, SHOTS. Just kidding. Maybe.

We also met some more ‘Merican couples for a very early dinner at a barbecue place near Oxford Circus for some ‘Merican food and ‘Merican basketball. Chris swore a lot, as we are both apt to do, and I think they were all perfectly horrified. The man is usually so good at feeling out his audience, but we are so over-tired and over-extended right now, the filter just dissipated. It was so jarring, and crossed the border of ridiculous halfway through our meal, that it just turned slapstick after awhile—like we were an episode of Curb Your Enthusiasm. What can I say? I love that guy. Even when he manages to offend a table full of people who might have been perfectly nice friends. And then we crashed and went home and went to sleep—our first night sleeping in the new place!

And yesterday: WE BOUGHT OUR COUCH. It will be delivered a week from today and I absolutely cannot wait for it. It’s kind of the worst feeling ever to be exhausted from standing up all day and unpacking, and then not have anywhere to comfortably sit.

SO, without further ado, here’s a little tour of the living/kitchen/dining room. I’ll take more when the bed is made and the bedrooms are cleared up of crap.





5 thoughts on “Our house. In the middle of our street.

  1. M says:

    It’s completely gorgeous!

  2. Rebecca Jane says:

    I’ve never been happier to see those chevron pillows. :)

  3. yael says:

    Place looks great! Can’t wait to drink in it.

    Anyone offended by copious amounts of ‘cussing is not a real friend. That’s my motto. Well, at least it should be.

  4. Melody says:

    I can’t wait to see in person! Ditto what Becca says about the pillows, and also the California wine country poster! Weeeee!

Comment...

